Asian Television Awards: Singapore Snubbed In Star Category But Dominates Others

The Asian Television Awards nominations have been released and 238 nominees from across 12 countries will fight for the crown in each of their respective categories at the award ceremony on 5 December 2013. The ATA are the crème of the various industry awards and every nod is an extra cherry on top of any of the nominees’ careers.

Among the Asian channels, Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, FOX International Channels, and home-grown MediaCorp dominate the nominations list.

Hopes were high but Singapore feels the loss of being absent from the star categories of acting in a Leading Role. Not one to be content with being left out, Singapore dominates the category for Best Actor in a Supporting Role. Pierre Png, for C.L.I.F 2, Jeffrey Xu, for Marry Me, Rayson Tan for It Takes Two, Romeo Tan for Joys of Life and Ian Fang for Don’t Stop Believin’ take up a whopping 5 of the 7 places in this category.

Resident Singaporean comedians Alaric Tay and Chua Enlai find themselves in the Best Comedy Performance by an Actor for their hilarious antics on The Noose Season 6. Additionally, Chua Enlai is also nominated for his wit and humour in Random Island.

Bryan Wong will be vying for the Best Entertainment Presenter for holding anchor on his show Jobs Around the World.

For Jeffrey Xu, Romeo Tan and Ian Fang, this is the first time they’re receiving this prestigious nod from the industry. Last year saw the old guard of the industry, Chen Han Wei and Tay Ping Hui, fighting for the win but the tide has turned this year with the nominations of these newcomers instead. Both Romeo Tan and Ian Fang are also pit against each other at the Star Awards.

MediaCorp also received accolades for various other categories – namely, Best Current Affairs Programme, Best Pre-school Education Programme, Best Infotainment Programme, Best Talk Show, Best Social Awareness Programme, Best Adaptation of an Existing Format, Best Cross-Platform Content, Best Lifestyle Programme, Best News Presenter/Anchor, Best Editing, Best Original Screenplay and Best Theme Song.

The winners of the awards will be announced at ​the ​awards/gala ceremony ​at Singapore’s Resorts World Sentosa, Compass Ballroom. Radio deejay of station Class 95FM Jean Danker will co-host the awards.

The full nomination list can be found here.


Explore latest trends in contemporary culture


Explore latest trends in contemporary culture