Drag queens have been around for decades, from the Stonewall riots to RuPaul’s Drag Race, being the front and centre of the march for LGBTQ+ equality in the world.  Ever since the art has exploded onto the television screen and social videos due to the birth of reality TV competition RuPaul’s Drag Race, a legion of drag queens have since spawned and taken over the world.

In Singapore, a country still grappling with LGBTQ+ rights, a band of fearless, talented Singapore drag queens have debuted — showing what it means to live life with pride, confidence and colour. Here are 33 drag queens that are taking our country by storm.


1: Vanda Miss Joaquim (@yourstrulyvandamissjoaquim)

2: Vyla Virus (@vylavirus)

3: Miss Chili (@misschilisg)

4: Mona Kee Kee (@monakeekeeonline)

5: Arya Dunn (@arya.dunn)

6: Kemora Kucinta (@kemorakucinta)

7: Salome Blaque (@salomeblaque)

8: Farrah Shamrock (@farrahshamrock)

9: Mika Vogue (@mika_vogue)

10: Becca D’Bus (@beccadbus)

11: Eva Le Queen (@eva_lequeen)

12: Yeastmonster (@yeastmonster)

13: Ms Fanservia (@msfanservia)

14: Miss Dahlia Rose (@missdahliarose)

15: Lily Elle (@fuzzley)

16: Anna Stacia (@officialannastacia)

17: Gina Gemini (@ginageminisg)

18: Noris (@noristar_narcisso)

19: Layla On Fire (@laylaonfireofficial)

20: Xanado Phlox (@xanadophlox)

21: Russell Fierce (@russellfierce)

22: Rhea Borne Eve (@rheaborneeve)

23: Ms Carla Dee (@mscarladee)

24: Tiara Sorrel (@tiarasorrel)

25: Eriana Conda (@eriana_conda)

26: Eliza Imanelly (@elizaimanelly)

27: Eyvabella Donna (@evyabelladonna)

28: Tanuki Starz (@tanuki_starz)

29: Ms Shazam (@msshazam)

30: DeEnormouS (@iamdeenormous)

31: Rima Supple S (@rima_s)

32: Sammi Zhen (@iamsammizhen)

33: Jaye Toh (@jaye_toh)


Addendum:

We originally intended this piece to feature some of the newer queens, but thought it would be good to place some of the veterans who have been a key part of the community. Some of these other key figures which we are happy to include in this list are:

Kumar
Amy Tashiana
Salmonella
Fariz Spears
Lisa Dolmat
Jeffrey Jayjay
Helda
Elnina
Sherry
Jada Jade Rodriguez

We thank those who have noted the omissions and would like to reiterate that the list is not exhaustive.


This article was originally published in @proutapp on Medium, where people are continuing the conversation by highlighting and responding to this story.