The inaugural National Youth Film Awards (NYFA), organised by *SCAPE, aims to set a benchmark in national excellence among Institutes of Higher Learning (IHLs) by offering film-related and animation courses, and in the process identifying talents of specific skill sets to the film industry.

The films were judged extensively by a 14-member jury that included filmmakers Jack Neo and Royston Tan. At the awards ceremony held at the *SCAPE The Ground Theatre on Sunday (Aug 2), the winners were revealed and announced in the presence of Guest-of-Honour Mr Lawrence Wong, Minister of Culture, Community and Youth.

Associate Professor Hans-Martin Rall

Associate Professor Hans-Martin Rall

Having led the nominations tally, Nanyang Technological University’s School of Art, Design & Media won 5 awards and subsequently took the award for Best Overall School. Its wins were for Best Animated Film, Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, Best Original Music and Best Production Design.

Angelica Ho and Shane Lim bags three awards, Best Screenplay, Best Direction and Best Picture for their film, November

Angelica Ho (left) and Shane Lim (right)

However, the three big award categories – Best Picture, Best Direction and Best Screenplay – went to November by Shane Lim and Angelica Ho from Ngee Ann Polytechnic’s Diploma in Film, Sound & Video, and it was the sole entry from NP to win any award. November is a short film about a teenager who is forced to face her fears after her boyfriend tests positive for herpes. The idea was conceived after Shane had a herpes scare when he was 19.

Each winner receives a cash prize of up to S$2,000 and apprenticeship as well as mentorship opportunities with key industry stakeholders of their respective recognised skill sets.

All NYFA winners with their Lumin trophies.

All NYFA winners with their Lumin trophies.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Angelica Ho – Best Screenplay and Best Picture (November)
Shane Lim – Best Direction and Best Screenplay (November)
Amber Lin – Best Performance Award (Chasing Tomorrow)
Choo Han Pin – Best Cinematography (Osmosis of Dad & The Love For Bubble T)
Maria Tan – Best Editing (Vengeance Is Mine)
Muhammad Faisal bin Jumani – Best Sound Editing (Di Sana)
Edwin Choy Ming Jie – Best Sound Mixing (Di Sana)
Chin Li Zhi, Yang Si Shuo – Best Visual Effects (Little Maud)
Ian Kong – Best Production Design (Graduation)
Thomas Liew – Best Original Music for “Daddy’s Boy” (Osmosis of Dad & The Love For Bubble T)
Iza Zainuddin, Navin Kumar – Best Documentary Film (Journey Of A Kavadi Bearer)
Andre Quek Xiang Lin, Abdul Hadi B Abdul Wahab, Vivien Tan Liqing – Best Animated Film (Princess)


Stay updated and social with Popspoken: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram